Snowfall Mittens Pattern

I have written up my Snowfall Mitten pattern! It’s my first published pattern and I could not be more excited. :) The pattern as a pdf can be download from my patterns page or from Ravelry here.

Snowfall Mittens

Mittens are my favourite thing to knit in the fall because they seem like the perfect way to prepare for the winter. Thereʼs nothing like having warm mittens to slip your hands in when the snow begins to fly. These mittens were inspired by that first winter snow. The braid on the cuff helps the cuff to lie flat and the two colour fair isle pattern makes them thicker than a single colour mitten.

Quick Specs:

Yarn: 2 contrasting colours of Lambs Pride Super Wash (Worsted), about 50g per colour

Needles: 4mm dpns or whatever gets you the gauge.

Other Materials: waste yarn or a stitch holder

Skills Required: Casting on, knitting in the round, increasing, decreasing, and two colour stranded knitting*

*This project is straight forward enough that it is appropriate for knitters new to working with two colours simultaneously.

These mittens were partially inspired by a pair I knit last year for Cassie, creatively titled “Cassie’s Mittens II”

Cassie's Mittens II

The picture is a bit sketchy but you get the idea. I’m contemplating writing up this pattern as well if there’s any interest. It also may depend on if I can dig up the charts I made and figure out the specifics. Hope you enjoy the pattern and if there are any questions or need of clarification please let me know. I’m new to this whole “design” thing so if  you have any constructive criticisms for my pattern writing I would love to hear it. Happy Knitting!

5 Responses to Snowfall Mittens Pattern

  1. Donna says:

    Hi,
    Thank you very much for the pattern, it’s really pretty. I had some trouble when I got to the thumb though. My gauge must be a little looser than yours and it seemed a bit big (for what I wanted).
    You said to increase 12 stitches (over those few rows) and put them on waste yarn, then to do the cast on over the thumb of 7 stitches. The numbers didn’t quite line up and it made the mitten a bit bigger over the thumb.
    Just to let you know, I frogged back to the thumb, didn’t increase at all. Took 10 stitches to waste yarn and cast on 10 over the thumb. I had to adjust the palm side a bit (that was easy…just followed the pattern from pre thumb area). I plan to pick up 10 + 10 + 2 + 2 for the thumb.
    I have used the same method for other mittens I’ve made and I like the size and feel at the thumb.
    Just thought I’d let you know, how I adjusted your pattern to fit my sizing.

    Thanks again for a pretty pattern. Hope to have my pics up on Ravelry soon.

    Donna
    (Rav – donnam)

  2. Aaltje Pauw - Sikkema says:

    Nice mittens. Now we have winter in Holland and I had a lot of patterns for Norwegian mittens but we moved about a year ago and still many things are in boxes, so hard to find where mij patterns are and I like to knit mittens now. Compliments for yout mittens.

    With regards,

    from north east Holland near the place called Emmen,

    Aaltje Pauw (means peacock)

  3. [...] Snowfall Mittens: The braid on the cuff helps the cuff to lie flat and the two colour fair isle pattern makes them thicker than a single colour mitten. Free pdf pattern download. [...]

  4. I Believe that post, “Snowfall Mittens Pattern
    To Knit Invisible Stars” ended up being just right! I actuallycan’t agree with you even more! At last looks like I reallyfound a site worth checking out. Thanks for your time, Casimira

  5. […] credit goes to Nicole, you can find the pattern here. I hope the creator reads this: I absolutely love the pattern, thankyou for sharing it with the […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

